July 4th on The Hudson

Happy belated Independence Day!  I was really excited to go down to the river to do some photography, because this would be my first time shooting fireworks with the lens I bought last summer, a Canon 24-105mm f4.  A few friends and I went down to The Hudson River and sat on the rocks right next to the water.  My butt was so sore after, because I chose to sit on a sharp rock… but it was all in the name of photography!  I had a great front row seat.

Besides getting the traditional fireworks shot, I wanted to experiment with something I saw a photographer do a little while ago.  His name is David Johnson and while he was doing his long exposures he would throw the focus while the fireworks were going off.  It creates a really cool effect.  I saw his work featured on an art blog called This Is Colossal.

Leave a Reply

